“[…] Veterinäre haben ein erhöhtes Risiko für Depressionen, suizidale Gedanken und ein erhöhtes Risiko eines Suizids. […]” 1

 

“[…] Ungefähr 1 von 11 Tierärzten litt unter ernsthaften psychischen Belastungen, und 1 von 6 erlebte suizidale Gedanken nach dem Abschluss des Tiermedizinstudiums. […]” 2

Tierärzte gehören zu den Berufsgruppen mit dem höchsten Suizidrisiko. Nur wenige Menschen in unserer Gesellschaft sind sich dessen bewusst. Wir möchten auf diese Situation aufmerksam machen – Break the Silence – und zusammen mit Vetivolution dazu beitragen, die Situation zu verbessern.

Vetivolution ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation in der DACH-Region, die sich für die psychische Gesundheit aller in der Tiermedizin Tätigen einsetzt. Ausschließlich durch Spenden finanziert, widmet sich Vetivolution dem psychischen Wohlergehen des veterinärmedizinischen Personals. Mit Ursprung in der Branche wird das Ziel verfolgt, eine positive Veränderung für die gesamte Tiermedizin herbeizuführen. Die Arbeit in der Tiermedizin sollte nicht mehr automatisch mit einem Risiko für die psychische Gesundheit verbunden sein.

Das Team von Vetivolution steht mit Supervision, Soforthilfe und präventiven Maßnahmen mit lösungsorientierten Ansätzen zur Verfügung. Vetivolution strebt danach, mehr Freude in der klinischen Praxis zu bringen und der Tiermedizin zu ermöglichen, selbstbewusst allen zukünftigen Herausforderungen zu begegnen. Die Unterstützung richtet sich gleichermaßen an Tierärzte, Tiermedizinische Fachangestellte und Studierende.

Denn gesunde Tierärzte bedeuten gesunde Tiere und letztlich eine gesunde Gesellschaft!

1 Schwerdtfeger, K.A., Bahramsoltani, M., Spangenberg, L., Hallensleben, N. and Glaesmer, H. (2020), Depression, suicidal ideation and suicide risk in German veterinarians compared with the general German population. Veterinary Record, 186: e2-e2. https://doi.org/10.1136/vr.105430

2 Nett, R. J., Witte, T. K., Holzbauer, S. M., Elchos, B. L., Campagnolo, E. R., Musgrave, K. J., Carter, K. K., Kurkjian, K. M., Vanicek, C. F., O’Leary, D. R., Pride, K. R., & Funk, R. H. (2015). Risk factors for suicide, attitudes toward mental illness, and practice-related stressors among US veterinarians. Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association, 247(8), 945–955. https://doi.org/10.2460/javma.247.8.945

“[…] Veterinarians have an increased risk of depression and suicidal ideation and suicide risk […]” 1

 

“[…] Approximately 1 in 11 veterinarians had serious psychological distress and 1 in 6 experienced suicidal ideation since leaving veterinary school […]” 2

Veterinarians are among the professional groups with the highest risk of suicide. Only a few people in our society are aware of this. We want to draw attention to this situation – Break the Silence – and, together with Vetivolution, contribute to improving the situation.

Vetivolution is a non-profit organization in the DACH region that advocates for the mental health of all those working in veterinary medicine. Solely funded by donations, Vetivolution is dedicated to the well-being of veterinary staff. Coming from the industry, the goal is to bring about a positive change for veterinary medicine as a whole. Working in veterinary medicine should no longer automatically be associated with a risk to mental health.

The Vetivolution team is available with supervision, immediate assistance, and preventive measures with solution-oriented approaches. Vetivolution strives to bring more joy to clinical practice and enable veterinary medicine to confidently face all future challenges. Support is directed towards veterinarians, veterinary technicians, and students alike.

Because healthy veterinarians mean healthy animals and ultimately a healthy society!

1 Schwerdtfeger, K.A., Bahramsoltani, M., Spangenberg, L., Hallensleben, N. and Glaesmer, H. (2020), Depression, suicidal ideation and suicide risk in German veterinarians compared with the general German population. Veterinary Record, 186: e2-e2. https://doi.org/10.1136/vr.105430

2 Nett, R. J., Witte, T. K., Holzbauer, S. M., Elchos, B. L., Campagnolo, E. R., Musgrave, K. J., Carter, K. K., Kurkjian, K. M., Vanicek, C. F., O’Leary, D. R., Pride, K. R., & Funk, R. H. (2015). Risk factors for suicide, attitudes toward mental illness, and practice-related stressors among US veterinarians. Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association, 247(8), 945–955. https://doi.org/10.2460/javma.247.8.945